Burr King from Blackjack Knives

I recently (yesterday) bought a Burr King belt grinder from a fellow on craigslist and am looking for a little info. It's a model #060200 (2" x 72"). It's in pretty good shape but is missing the platen arm (I'm assuming it had one at one time.) There is a sticker on it that says "Property of Blackjack knives, Effingham, IL). I looked them up and it (the web) said they went out of business in 1997 (I think that's what I read). The guy I bought it from said his Dad bought a duplex apartment and this was left in it. It's on a stand that uses a hydraulic cylinder to raise and lower it, which I probably won't use, I may set it up on a bench. It came with a variable speed controller and (only) a 1/2 hp leeson motor. Can't wait to try it out. I've never used a belt grinder before.

If anyone has an old platen arm that might fit this machine and is willing to part with it, I may be willing to purchase, otherwise I guess I'll try to make my own.

I can take some pics tomorrow if anyone is interested.

Thanks,

Andy

Here ya go Sam. Excuse the mess...

Yes, I was reading this page on the Engnath website.

http://www.engnath.com/public/grinder.htm

I need to figure out how I want to set this thing up. If I use it, as is, I'm going to need a pedestal or base or something. It's really low now and is at about the top of its extension height.

Not a bad score for a couple of Franklins.

This thing is heavy! I asked the guy on the phone how heavy it was and he said ohh, around 50 lbs (young fellah).

Again if anyone has any experience with this model or a good method of setting it up and or attaching a platen and rest for flat grinding, I'd love to hear your thoughts.

Thanks,

Andy

BurrKingFront.jpg

BurrKingLeft.jpg