My Forge - weird black solid stuff & welding problem

Ok, it's been a while since I used gas exclusively - but I didn't have any problems so far.

I've been making patternwelded stuff for close to 10 years now, with only rare problems.... I ususally can get it done half-asleep ;)

Until now I've successfully made 7 different billets of patternwelded material with my new gas forge and press - no problems whatsoever - now today I started another billet - same materials (02 + L6) as usual.

into the forge - up to temp - in the press - all nice and perfect.

then however I did draw it out, cut it, clean it thoroughly sprinkle borax on fold it over and back to the forge... up to a good high white heat...

Squeeeze - nothing . it didn't even stick at all - nothing.

ok, back out - opened it up again, cleaned it again... added more borax, folded it again, more borax and back to the forge... nothing again

I tried going higher with the heat and hand hammering - to no avail - the billet would keep separating. well I tried a few more times - without any better results... then I decided to let it cool down...

well, when I went back to the smithy-room and examined the forge I noticed that the bottom is covered in a dark-gray / black "thing"... hard ... it looks like oxide... but really weird...

here's a photo:

253755917_wHHNK-M.jpg

during forgin the stuff was fairly STICKY too... it basically once glued the billet down to the bottom.

well the bottom is covered with a hard firebrick - I thought it would be easier to maintain as I can just pull it out and replace it instead of cleaning.

the other thing that I've noticed was my borax - well I usually order granulated borax from a forgin supplier in eith 5kg or 20kg bags... but I didn't have any left as of yesterday and went to my local pharmacy... they had like 300gram medical grade borax which I ended up buying for a price I could have gotten mysefl a 5kg bag. but I needed it.